# ChatGPT and Codex pricing and fit for marketers

Page: https://betterapps.site/tools/chatgpt-codex
Site: Better Apps, run by Kerry Morrison of BetterStory
Status: Not yet reviewed by Kerry. Checked facts only.
Price checked: November 5, 2026


> OpenAI's AI chatbot for everyday tasks, plus Codex, its coding agent.

## Short answer

ChatGPT and Codex pricing: Free plan. Go $8 per month. Plus $20 per month. ChatGPT and Codex has a free plan. The Go plan, the cheapest paid plan with a list price, costs $40 a month for 5 people. Prices checked November 5, 2026 on the vendor's pricing page. Prices change, so confirm on the vendor's page before you buy.

## What is ChatGPT and Codex?

ChatGPT is OpenAI's AI chatbot. The site describes it as an AI chatbot for everyday use. Users can chat, create images, upload files, run deep research, and use voice. Codex is the coding agent inside ChatGPT plans. It runs on the web, in a CLI, in IDE extensions, and on iOS. Plus and above add cloud features such as automatic code review and Slack. Plans include Free, Go, Plus, and Pro for individuals. Business and Enterprise plans add admin controls, SAML SSO, and larger cloud machines. Anyone can also use Codex with an API key billed at standard API rates.

## Who is ChatGPT and Codex for?

### Who should use ChatGPT and Codex?

- Marketers who want a general assistant for writing, images, and research
- Developers who want a coding agent tied to a chat subscription
- Teams that need SSO and admin controls through Business or Enterprise

### Who should skip ChatGPT and Codex?

- Teams that want a fixed bill, since heavy use may need extra credits
- API-key users who want cloud features, since those do not include GitHub review or Slack

## How much does ChatGPT and Codex cost?

| Plan | Price | Billing basis | Notes |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Free | $0 | Not stated by the vendor | Limited Codex access in the desktop app. |
| Go | $8 per month | Not stated by the vendor | Lightweight coding tasks in the desktop app. |
| Plus | $20 per month | Per month | Codex on web, CLI, IDE extension, and iOS. Extra credits can be bought after the limit. |
| Pro | From $100 per month | Not stated by the vendor | Plans at $100, $200, or $500 per month. Enterprise has no public price. |

Source: https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing. Checked November 5, 2026. Screenshot of the vendor page, captured November 6, 2026: https://betterapps.site/shots/chatgpt-codex.jpg.

## How much does ChatGPT and Codex cost for a team?

List price on monthly billing, multiplied by team size.

| Plan | Priced per | 1 person | 3 people | 5 people | 10 people |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Go | person | $8 | $24 | $40 | $80 |
| Plus | person | $20 | $60 | $100 | $200 |
| Pro | person | $100 | $300 | $500 | $1,000 |

## How has the price of ChatGPT and Codex changed?

| Checked | Headline price | Source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| November 5, 2026 | Free plan. Go $8 per month. Plus $20 per month | https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing |

## What does ChatGPT and Codex work with?

Slack, GitHub, IDE extension, CLI, SDK.

## What are the alternatives to ChatGPT and Codex?

- [Claude and Claude Code](https://betterapps.site/tools/claude): Anthropic's AI assistant for everyday work, plus Claude Code, its coding agent. Free plan. Pro $20 per month.
- [Grok](https://betterapps.site/tools/grok): An AI assistant that chats, makes images, writes code, and uses live web and X data. SuperGrok $30 per month. API is usage-based.

## Questions and answers

### How much does ChatGPT cost?

Go costs $8 per month, Plus $20, and Pro starts at $100. The Codex pricing page and the main ChatGPT pricing page list different Business or Team prices, so check the live pages before buying.

### Is there a free plan?

Yes. Free is available to everyone, with limited Codex access in the desktop app.

### Which plans include Codex?

Every plan lists some Codex access. Plus adds Codex on the web, CLI, IDE extension, and iOS, and cloud features such as automatic code review and Slack.

### Can I use Codex without a subscription?

Yes. An API key works in the CLI, SDK, and IDE extension, billed at standard API rates. It does not include cloud features such as GitHub code review or Slack.

### What does ChatGPT and Codex integrate with?

ChatGPT and Codex lists these integrations: Slack, GitHub, IDE extension, CLI, SDK. Checked November 5, 2026 against the vendor's pages.

## Sources

- https://chatgpt.com/
- https://openai.com/chatgpt/pricing/
- https://learn.chatgpt.com/docs/pricing

## How was this page made?

Facts come from the vendor pages listed under Sources and were gathered with AI help. Anything unconfirmed is marked. Method: https://betterapps.site/methodology
