# PostHog pricing and fit for marketers

Page: https://betterapps.site/tools/posthog
Site: Better Apps, run by Kerry Morrison of BetterStory
Status: Not yet reviewed by Kerry. Checked facts only.
Price checked: November 5, 2026


> Product analytics suite with replay, feature flags, and surveys, billed by usage with a monthly free tier.

## Short answer

PostHog pricing: Free monthly tier. Pay as you go above it. PostHog has a free plan. Prices checked November 5, 2026 on the vendor's pricing page. Prices change, so confirm on the vendor's page before you buy. Vendors count different things, such as people, channels or runs.

## What is PostHog?

PostHog is a product analytics platform. Its products include Product Analytics, Session Replay, Error Tracking, Web Analytics, Feature Flags, Experiments, Surveys, a data warehouse, CDP, and Workflows. Pricing is usage based. A free tier resets each month and includes 1M analytics events, 5K session recordings, 1M feature flag requests, 100K exceptions, and 1,500 survey responses. Paid use is pay as you go above those amounts with no base fee listed. PostHog says it supports 900+ data sources and connects to Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, and other tools through its MCP. The site targets product and engineering teams and says over 500,000 teams use it.

## Who is PostHog for?

### Who should use PostHog?

- Product and engineering teams that want analytics, replay, and flags in one tool
- Teams that want usage based pricing with a free monthly tier
- Teams that want to pull data from sources such as Stripe, Postgres, and HubSpot

### Who should skip PostHog?

- Marketers who only need ad and search reporting, since PostHog is built around product data
- Buyers who need per-unit rates on the pricing page, which were not shown in the text read

## How much does PostHog cost?

| Plan | Price | Billing basis | Notes |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Free | $0 | Not stated by the vendor | One project, 1 year data retention, community support, and a monthly free tier with no credit card. |
| Pay-as-you-go | Usage based | Not stated by the vendor | No base fee listed and no minimums. Pay only for usage above the free tier. Includes 6 projects and 7 year retention. Per-unit rates were not shown. Log retention past 14 days costs $0.05 per GB per month. |

Source: https://posthog.com/pricing. Checked November 5, 2026.

## How has the price of PostHog changed?

| Checked | Headline price | Source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| November 5, 2026 | Free monthly tier. Pay as you go above it. | https://posthog.com/pricing |

## What does PostHog work with?

Stripe, Postgres, HubSpot, Zendesk, Linear, GitHub, Claude, ChatGPT.

## What are the alternatives to PostHog?

- [Google Analytics 4 (GA4)](https://betterapps.site/tools/ga4): Google's free analytics tool for measuring web and app activity, with a paid 360 tier for large teams. Free for the standard version.

## Questions and answers

### Does PostHog have a free plan?

Yes. The free tier resets monthly and includes 1M analytics events, 5K session recordings, 1M feature flag requests, 100K exceptions, and 1,500 survey responses. No credit card is needed.

### How does PostHog charge?

Pricing is usage based. After the free tier you pay for what you use, with no minimums or required annual commitment. Per-unit rates are in the pricing calculator and were not in the page text read. You can set billing limits per product.

### Who is PostHog built for?

The site targets product and engineering teams and developers.

### How is PostHog different from Google Analytics?

PostHog focuses on product analytics with session replay, feature flags, and experiments. Google Analytics focuses on marketing measurement tied to Google Ads.

### How much does PostHog cost?

Free monthly tier. Pay as you go above it. Checked November 5, 2026 against the vendor's pricing page.

### What does PostHog integrate with?

PostHog lists these integrations: Stripe, Postgres, HubSpot, Zendesk, Linear, GitHub, Claude, ChatGPT. Checked November 5, 2026 against the vendor's pages.

## Sources

- https://posthog.com/pricing
- https://posthog.com/

## How was this page made?

Facts come from the vendor pages listed under Sources and were gathered with AI help. Anything unconfirmed is marked. Method: https://betterapps.site/methodology
