Better Apps

ChatGPT and Codex pricing

Facts and pricing for marketers

OpenAI's AI chatbot for everyday tasks, plus Codex, its coding agent.

Short answer: ChatGPT and Codex pricing: Free plan. Go $8 per month. Plus $20 per month. ChatGPT and Codex has a free plan. The Go plan, the cheapest paid plan with a list price, costs $40 a month for 5 people. Prices checked November 5, 2026 on the vendor's pricing page. Prices change, so confirm on the vendor's page before you buy.

Maintained by Kerry Morrison, founder of BetterStory. 25 years in agency, sales, consulting and operations. Facts last checked .

Not yet reviewed by KerryKerry uses itVisit ChatGPT and Codex

Read this page with AIOpen in ClaudeOpen in ChatGPTView as Markdown

Not yet reviewed by Kerry.

The facts below were checked against the vendor's own pages. This page has no verdict yet because Kerry has not written one. See how we pick for what earns a full review.

What are the key facts about ChatGPT and Codex?

The facts in this table were checked against ChatGPT and Codex's own pages on November 5, 2026. ChatGPT and Codex belongs to the AI assistants job on this site, in the AI assistant and coding agent group. Starting price: Free plan. Go $8 per month. Plus $20 per month. The plan table further down gives the full list.

Key facts about ChatGPT and Codex
Starting priceFree plan. Go $8 per month. Plus $20 per month
Free planYes
TrialNot confirmed
Price checkedNovember 5, 2026
JobAI assistants

What is ChatGPT and Codex?

OpenAI's AI chatbot for everyday tasks, plus Codex, its coding agent. On this site it sits in the AI assistants job, in the AI assistant and coding agent group. It is best for marketers who want a general assistant for writing, images, and research. Prices were checked on November 5, 2026. The vendor's own site is chatgpt.com.

ChatGPT is OpenAI's AI chatbot. The site describes it as an AI chatbot for everyday use. Users can chat, create images, upload files, run deep research, and use voice. Codex is the coding agent inside ChatGPT plans. It runs on the web, in a CLI, in IDE extensions, and on iOS. Plus and above add cloud features such as automatic code review and Slack. Plans include Free, Go, Plus, and Pro for individuals. Business and Enterprise plans add admin controls, SAML SSO, and larger cloud machines. Anyone can also use Codex with an API key billed at standard API rates.

Who is ChatGPT and Codex for?

ChatGPT and Codex fits these people best: Marketers who want a general assistant for writing, images, and research. It also suits developers who want a coding agent tied to a chat subscription. Skip ChatGPT and Codex if this is you: Teams that want a fixed bill, since heavy use may need extra credits.

Who should use ChatGPT and Codex?

  • Marketers who want a general assistant for writing, images, and research
  • Developers who want a coding agent tied to a chat subscription
  • Teams that need SSO and admin controls through Business or Enterprise

Who should skip ChatGPT and Codex?

  • Teams that want a fixed bill, since heavy use may need extra credits
  • API-key users who want cloud features, since those do not include GitHub review or Slack

How much does ChatGPT and Codex cost?

ChatGPT and Codex lists 4 plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro. The lowest paid plan with a list price is Go at $8 per month. These figures come from the vendor's pricing page, checked November 5, 2026. Prices change, so confirm before you buy. The table shows each plan's price and notes.

ChatGPT and Codex plans and list prices
PlanPriceBilling basisNotes
Free$0Not stated by the vendorLimited Codex access in the desktop app.
Go$8 per monthNot stated by the vendorLightweight coding tasks in the desktop app.
Plus$20 per monthPer monthCodex on web, CLI, IDE extension, and iOS. Extra credits can be bought after the limit.
ProFrom $100 per monthNot stated by the vendorPlans at $100, $200, or $500 per month. Enterprise has no public price.
ChatGPT and Codex pricing page at learn.chatgpt.com, captured November 6, 2026. Plans on file: Free, Go, Plus, Pro.
Screenshot of ChatGPT and Codex's own pricing page at learn.chatgpt.com, captured November 6, 2026 in a logged-out browser. The image belongs to the vendor and is shown to document the prices listed here. Vendors sometimes show promotional prices or a different billing basis.

Source: the vendor's pricing page, checked November 5, 2026. Prices change, so confirm before you buy.

How has the price of ChatGPT and Codex changed?

We last recorded the ChatGPT and Codex headline price on November 5, 2026: Free plan. Go $8 per month. Plus $20 per month. That is the first recorded check, so no price change has been seen yet. A new row is added only when a later check finds a change, so the table shows real changes and not noise.

Recorded headline prices for ChatGPT and Codex
CheckedHeadline priceSource
November 5, 2026Free plan. Go $8 per month. Plus $20 per monthVendor page

This is the first recorded check, on November 5, 2026. A new row is added when a later check finds a change.

How much does ChatGPT and Codex cost for a team?

For 5 people, ChatGPT and Codex's Go plan costs $40 a month at list price on monthly billing. It costs $8 for 1 person and $80 for 10. These totals multiply the vendor's list price by team size, checked November 5, 2026. Seat limits, minimums and annual discounts can change the real bill, so check the vendor's page.

Monthly list cost of ChatGPT and Codex by team size
PlanPriced per1 person3 people5 people10 people
Goperson$8$24$40$80
Plusperson$20$60$100$200
Properson$100$300$500$1,000

What does ChatGPT and Codex work with?

ChatGPT and Codex lists 5 integrations on its own pages, including Slack, GitHub, IDE extension, CLI. We took this list from the vendor's pages and checked it on November 5, 2026. A tool missing from the list may still connect through Zapier, Make or an API, so ask the vendor. The full list follows.

Slack, GitHub, IDE extension, CLI, SDK.

What are the alternatives to ChatGPT and Codex?

The closest alternatives to ChatGPT and Codex on this site are Claude and Claude Code, Grok. Each does a similar job, and the cards show each one's starting price as of its last check. Starting prices differ because vendors count people, channels or usage in different ways. Claude and Claude Code: Free plan. Pro $20 per month.

What tools go with ChatGPT and Codex?

These tools go with ChatGPT and Codex because they share a stack, a listed integration or the same job: Slack, AgentMail, Attio, Buffer, Canva, DataForSEO. The list comes from the stack pages and integration lists on this site. It is not a recommendation to buy any of them. Each card says why it was picked.

Adding up several tools? Use the stack cost calculator.

Common questions

How much does ChatGPT cost?

Go costs $8 per month, Plus $20, and Pro starts at $100. The Codex pricing page and the main ChatGPT pricing page list different Business or Team prices, so check the live pages before buying.

Is there a free plan?

Yes. Free is available to everyone, with limited Codex access in the desktop app.

Which plans include Codex?

Every plan lists some Codex access. Plus adds Codex on the web, CLI, IDE extension, and iOS, and cloud features such as automatic code review and Slack.

Can I use Codex without a subscription?

Yes. An API key works in the CLI, SDK, and IDE extension, billed at standard API rates. It does not include cloud features such as GitHub code review or Slack.

What does ChatGPT and Codex integrate with?

ChatGPT and Codex lists these integrations: Slack, GitHub, IDE extension, CLI, SDK. Checked November 5, 2026 against the vendor's pages.

Sources

Spot a mistake? Request a correction.